Ladbrokes Hockey News – NHL MVP Finalists named

  • Updated: May 15, 2014
  • Ladbrokes Hockey News – NHL MVP Finalists named

    It’s always a special honor when an athlete is recognized by his or her peers for their consistent performances in their chosen sport. This is what makes the NHL Players’ Association’s Ted Lindsay Award the most satisfying to pro hockey players as it’s voted on by their teammates and opponents alike.  The NHL recently announced the three finalists for this year’s award which is given to the league’s most-outstanding player. This year’s nominees are centers Claude Giroux of the Philadelphia Flyers, Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, and Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks. Crosby has won the award twice before, including last year, while Giroux and Getzlaf have yet to win the coveted trophy.


    The NHL Awards show will take place in a nationally-televised ceremony at the Encore Theater in the Wynn Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada on Tuesday June, 24. The Ted Lindsay Award is the only one that is voted on by the NHL players. Lindsay is a former forward with the Detroit Red Wings who helped establish the NHL Players’ Association.

    Crosby of the Penguins hails from Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, and he managed to win the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s leading scorer this season with 36 goals and 68 assists for 104 points in 80 games. The Penguins captain helped lead the Penguins to the second-best finish in the Eastern Conference and also led the league in assists and in points per game at 1.30. He was also number one in the NHL with 66 even-strength points and number three in faceoffs won at 991.

    Crosby played 21.58 minutes per game, which was the most in the league for a forward. This is the seventh time in the past eight years that a Penguins player has been a finalist for the Lindsay Award. Crosby took it home with him in the 2006/07 and 2012/13 seasons and was also named a finalist in 2009/10.

    Getzlaf of the Ducks hails from Regina, Saskatchewan, and the team’s captain enjoyed one of his finest seasons in the league with a career high 31 goals to go along with 56 assists for 87 points in 77 games. He helped lead his club to the Western Conference’s best record and finished second in the overall scoring race behind Crosby. He was also fifth in the NHL in assists and third in points per game at 1.13. Getzlaf is the second Anaheim player to be nominated for the award in the past four years and is hoping to become the first in Ducks’ history to win it.

    Giroux of the Flyers hails from Hearst, Ontario, and he racked up 28 goals and 58 assists for 86 points in 82 games which ranked him third in league scoring behind Crosby and Getzlaf. He ranked number two in the NHL with 30 power-play assists, fourth in assists and also fourth in faceoffs won at 931. This was the fourth straight season the Flyers captain has led his team in both assists and points.

    The 28 goals tied his career high mark and he helped lead his team to the postseason for the sixth time in the past seven years. This is the first time he’s been nominated for the award and if he wins it he’ll become the first Flyer to capture it since the 1994/95 season when Eric Lindros was the recipient.

    Interestingly enough, all three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award are team captains and they were the top three scorers in the NHL this season.

    By William Lewis
    Visit the Author’s Google+ page

    Article Name
    Ladbrokes Hockey News - NHL MVP Finalist Named.
    Follow all the action with Ladbrokes Hockey News. Join Ladbrokes today to bet on all of the best NHL action available online. Great odds, Welcome Bonus!